🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro Explained: The New Limits And The Pro 200 Cut on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200 ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The changes took effect October 29, 2026; they do not double every ChatGPT limit, and OpenAI did not specify a numerical increase for Business Premium.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut for its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan on October 29, a day before the reduction was due to begin, and doubled the previous Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The reversal matters to subscribers who had been told their Pro 200 allowance would fall, but it does not double every ChatGPT limit or change plan prices.
In release notes titled “More Work and Codex usage on Pro and Business Premium Plans,” OpenAI said Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. It also said it had “canceled the Pro 200 reduction announced in our September 29 email.” The changes took effect October 29, according to the company’s updated help page.
For Pro 200 subscribers, the outcome depends on the allowance they had before the reversal: OpenAI says the lower allowance doubled to match the higher one, while subscribers already on the higher allowance keep it. The company also says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher limit. That is not a blanket doubling for every existing Pro 200 subscriber.
The limits are specific to ChatGPT Work and Codex, which use a shared allowance. OpenAI’s help page says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Ultrafast, a faster mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. Existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal, and do not need to take action.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
What Changes for Pro Subscribers
The reversal removes a scheduled reduction that could have affected people using Pro 200 for substantial Work and Codex tasks. The larger allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500 also change how much of that shared usage subscribers can draw on, without changing the advertised monthly prices.
But “twice the allowance” should not be read as twice as much completed work. OpenAI says usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. The change applies to a defined usage pool, not to every feature or limit in ChatGPT. Subscribers comparing plans should check their usage page and the terms for their specific tier rather than assuming all limits have doubled.
For businesses, the change may affect seat planning, but its financial effect is not fully specified. OpenAI said Business Premium usage is increasing without giving a multiplier in its release notes. A post by OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux described that increase as a doubling, but the official details page is more limited. Companies should also distinguish subscription seat allowances from separate API budgets; the announcement does not say API pricing or limits changed.
Products Worth Considering

LG UltraGear 32GX850A-B 32-Inch 4K UHD Glossy OLED Gaming Monitor

LG 34GX90SA-W 34-inch Ultragear WQHD OLED Curved Gaming Monitor

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Keyboard Tactile (Graphite)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the September Cut Was Reversed
The change follows a series of adjustments to OpenAI’s paid plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for GPT-6 Astra, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That explanation was his public statement, not an independently established account of the company’s capacity or usage.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and launched Pro 500. In an email to affected subscribers, the company said included usage allowances were changing while the Pro 200 monthly price remained $200. Sottiaux described the original plan’s usage ladder as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, adding that existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit” and receive additional credits.
OpenAI’s October 29 announcement changed that plan before its scheduled October 30 start. Work is used for longer tasks such as research and documents; Codex is OpenAI’s coding agent. OpenAI’s pricing information says the two share pricing, credits and usage limits, which is why the increase is a larger shared allowance rather than separate increases for each product.
“We heard your kind feedback.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo
Details OpenAI Has Not Specified
OpenAI’s release notes do not give a numerical increase for Business Premium. Sottiaux said its usage limits doubled, but the updated help page and release note describe only an increase, without a factor. The precise allowance for those seats therefore cannot be established from the company’s published plan details cited here.
The announcement also does not state that Business Standard, Go or Free plans changed; those plans are not mentioned in the October 29 notes. The source material does not give exact allowance quantities for each affected plan, so readers cannot calculate how many additional tasks or coding jobs the change enables. OpenAI says Dots, its always-on agents, retain extended limits “for now” and are counted separately.
What Subscribers Should Check
OpenAI says the new allowances apply automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for a billing renewal. Pro users can check their account’s usage page to see the allowance attached to their tier. Businesses reviewing seat costs should confirm the Business Premium terms with OpenAI, since the public release note does not state a numerical increase.
The October 29 announcement sets out the current changes but does not announce a later review date or a new allowance schedule. The main point to watch is whether OpenAI publishes clearer Business Premium figures or makes further changes to plan limits. Until then, the stated changes are limited to the named Work and Codex allowances and the specific Pro 200 limits described in its help page.
Key Questions
Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT Pro limit?
No. OpenAI doubled the previous Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500. It says Pro 200’s lower allowance doubled to match its higher allowance. The weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 did not change.
What happened to the planned Pro 200 cut?
OpenAI canceled the reduction on October 29, one day before it was scheduled to take effect. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance received an increase to match the higher allowance; those already on the higher allowance keep it.
Did ChatGPT subscription prices change?
No price change is included in the October 29 announcement. The plans discussed remain listed at $100, $200 and $500 a month for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, respectively.
Did Business Premium usage double?
OpenAI’s release notes say Business Premium usage is increasing but do not give a multiplier. Thibault Sottiaux said it doubled in a post, so the exact published allowance remains unclear from the release notes.
Do existing subscribers need to renew to get the new allowance?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal or taking action.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
