AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Why AI Flat Rates Are Being Questioned—and What Users Could See Change on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s cost to serve was too high relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of a new limit. In the same week, OpenAI published restrictions on paid accounts sharing devices or payment cards and said some ChatGPT and Codex plans will use one shared allowance from December. The developments point to tighter metering, not a confirmed end to flat monthly prices.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI published new limits on shared paid accounts and announced a shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance from December. The changes put pressure on the idea that a flat monthly AI subscription includes unlimited use, but neither company has announced an end to its subscription pricing.

Musk’s statement came in reply to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after users reported that their usage ran out quickly. He provided no cost, revenue or margin figures, and did not specify whether xAI had changed usage limits, planned a price adjustment or would offer resets. His comment concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-performing agent, not Grok chat generally.

OpenAI’s help center says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one card or device. The restrictions cover Go, Plus and Pro plans; the help page does not publish a numerical threshold. OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business users will draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex beginning in December. The allowance is measured in tokens, while unlimited use of “Instant” chats remains outside that meter, according to the company’s help information.

OpenAI also expanded some high-tier allowances during the same week. On Oct. 29, company release notes said Pro 100 and Pro 500 would receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction to Pro 200 was cancelled. These changes show that usage rules can move in either direction: more allowance for some plans, alongside tighter account controls and shared metering.

At a glance
reportWhen: Developments reported Nov. 1, 2026; Ope…
The developmentMusk cited Grok Bot’s high serving costs as OpenAI announced account restrictions and a shared allowance for some ChatGPT and Codex plans.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Subscription Prices Meet Usage Meters

For subscribers, a monthly price may remain fixed while the amount of work it covers depends on the plan, model and task. Agent tasks can consume more resources than a short chat because they may run through multiple steps or use tools over time. A user who treats an advertised monthly plan as unlimited could reach a cap sooner than expected, particularly when using agents or coding features.

For businesses, shared allowances make it harder to treat AI as a predictable per-seat expense alone. Companies may need to track which products draw from the same pool, how usage is measured and what happens when an allowance is exhausted. The developments do not establish that all providers will adopt the same approach, but they show why buyers should seek plan limits and overage terms in writing.

The evidence does not support a claim that flat-rate AI subscriptions are ending. It does support a narrower conclusion: “unlimited” access has practical boundaries, and providers are making those boundaries more visible through meters, account rules and shared pools.

Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Petal Pink

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones, Petal Pink

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Keyboard, Tactile Quiet, Graphite

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Keyboard, Tactile Quiet, Graphite

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How AI Plans Set Their Limits

AI subscriptions have often presented a monthly price alongside access to models and tools, but the cost of each request varies. OpenAI’s rate card, cited in the source material, gives different token rates for different models; its most capable model uses an allowance roughly 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest model. That comparison concerns output-token rates, not the total cost of every task.

Grok Bot’s usage is also described by xAI as dependent on agent steps and tokens, rather than simply the number of messages. Its pricing information says the agent draws from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and models in the Cursor coding tool for eligible subscription tiers. The specific allowance and how quickly a task uses it can vary with the work requested.

OpenAI’s changes arrived alongside a separate expansion of some Pro allowances, making the week’s policy direction less simple than a blanket reduction. Earlier, in January 2025, OpenAI chief executive Sam Altman said the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users used them more than expected. That statement concerned OpenAI’s plan at the time; it does not establish the economics of its current plans or xAI’s costs.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying on X on Nov. 1, 2026

Limits and Costs Still Unspecified

xAI has not disclosed Grok Bot’s costs or revenue, nor said whether it changed the weekly pool, by how much, or whether it will adjust pricing or provide resets. Musk’s use of the past tense does not, by itself, confirm when any cost change occurred. Reports described a separate post from Grok’s official account about adjusted allocations and a dashboard issue, but the source material says that post could not be independently located; those details remain reported rather than confirmed here.

OpenAI has not published the number of paid subscriptions allowed per device or payment card in the help information described here. The exact size of the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance, how it will be allocated across products and what users can do after reaching it are also not specified in the supplied material. Specific effects on individual users remain unclear until providers publish further details or users see the limits applied to their accounts.

Watch for December Allowance Details

The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s December rollout of one allowance for ChatGPT and Codex on Plus, Pro and Business plans. Users should watch the company’s help pages and account usage displays for the allowance size, reset schedule and rules for the products covered. OpenAI’s published account restrictions may also become clearer if it adds numerical thresholds.

For Grok Bot, xAI has not announced a specific next step in the material available. Any claim of a price change, reset policy or newly imposed cap should be treated as unconfirmed unless xAI provides it directly. Until then, the clearest guidance for users and companies is to check current plan terms and usage meters rather than assume a flat fee guarantees unlimited agent work.

Key Questions

Are AI flat-rate subscriptions ending?

No such end has been announced in the developments described. The evidence points to more explicit limits and metering within monthly plans, not the removal of flat subscription prices.

What did Elon Musk say about Grok Bot?

On Nov. 1, 2026, Musk said Grok Bot’s cost to serve was “unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He provided no financial figures and did not announce a specific change to users’ limits or prices.

What changes is OpenAI making?

OpenAI says it is limiting how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with one card or device. From December, Plus, Pro and Business plans will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens.

Will ChatGPT’s new shared allowance cover every chat?

According to OpenAI’s help information, unlimited “Instant” chats are outside the shared meter. The supplied material does not specify the allowance’s size or all of the allocation rules.

What should users check before upgrading?

Check the plan’s current usage page and terms for which tools share an allowance, how usage is counted and when limits reset. Do not assume an agent task costs the same as a short chat or that a monthly fee means unlimited use.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Dwarf Fortress Is Getting The Mother Of All Magic Updates

Dwarf Fortress is set to receive a significant magic-themed update, sparking widespread interest and anticipation among players and fans.

Claude Duet Vs Grok Bot: Who Acts Without Asking, And When – OrcaRouter

The available item asks when Claude Duet and Grok Bot act without approval, but provides no tests, examples or evidence to answer.

SenseTime’s Innovation In AI: A Deep Dive Into Its 2026 Strategy

Analysis questions SenseTime’s 2026 strategy framing as a frontier AI lab aiming for dominance, citing lack of supporting evidence or benchmarks.

How to Choose Wireless Earbuds For Commuting

Learn how to select, set up, and use wireless earbuds for commuting with this step-by-step guide. Perfect for beginners seeking reliable audio on the go.